Goodbye 20’s

Turning 30 in a few hours and I’ve had the chance to reflect on the past decade.  I’ve grown from that extremely naive 20 year old, who fell in love easily, who yearned for someone to love her immensely, who believed in words rather than actions, and who had this picture perfect ideal of what her future would be like. I let society dictate my every move and I thought as a woman, I HAD to find THE ONE, get married, and have kids. But as the years went on, and with each failed relationship, I was still unhappy.  Because I allowed society to tell me that I NEEDED a man’s love to be happy, that I NEEDED to bear children to fulfill my destiny as a woman, that I NEEDED someone else to love me more than I ever would.  For the past two years, I’ve realized just how wrong society is.  And I’ve learned to abide by my own rules because I’M living this life of mine.  So, YES, here I am, a soon to be 30 year old woman, SINGLE, CHILDLESS and with a career, and let me tell you how HAPPY I am.  I’m no longer searching for the one to complete me nor do I feel pressured to have children because “my biological clock is ticking”.  I am living my life for myself and putting myself first.  As selfish as that may sound, it feels quite liberating and empowering to say EFF YOU to society’s standards.  I am happy loving myself and being surrounded by family, friends, and loved ones.  I am happy doing what I love (teaching, running, swimming, and writing) and that’s all that matters.

Leave a Reply

